Step 1: Find Your Place

Just as you would in any new work location, the first step in your Raleigh Onboarding program is to orient yourself in your new city. Where in Wake County, Raleigh or the broader Triangle area are you living and working? What cities and towns are near you and in what direction?

Wake County

Wake County includes Raleigh and 12 surrounding towns: Apex, Cary, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Holly Springs, Knightdale, Morrisville, Rolesville, Wake Forest, Wendell, Zebulon and Research Triangle Park (part in Wake, part Durham).

City of Raleigh

The City of Raleigh itself is loosely divided into 7 unique areas: the four geographic areas of North, South, East and West along with Midtown/Midtown East, Downtown and Brier Creek/RDU. (This is all flexible and changing – fast-growing Midtown/Midtown East was just known as North Hills a few years back.)

Downtown Raleigh

Downtown Raleigh is further divided into 6 distinct Districts: Glenwood South, Warehouse, Fayetteville Street, Moore Square, Capital, Seaboard and Seaboard/Person Street. You can discover all the attractions, shops and restaurants in each District on the Downtown Raleigh Alliance https://downtownraleigh.org/districts site.